Questions? AskAuckland

Civil Engineering researchers presented with K.B. Woods Award

22 January 2018
foe-news-kbwoods Left to right: Neil Pedersen (TRB Executive Director), Enrico Fletcher (PhD industry advisor), Dr Theuns Henning, Gerhard van Blerk (PhD student), Associate Professor Seosamh Costello, Hyun-A Park (Technical Activities Council chair). Photograph courtesy of the Transportation Research Board.

Three of our Civil Engineering researchers were recently presented with the K.B. Woods Award at the 97th Annual Meeting of the Transportation Research Board.

The award was presented in "recognition of a paper of outstanding merit" entitled Ethylene Glycol Accelerated Weathering Test: An Improved, Objective Aggregate Durability Test Method to PhD candidate Gerhard van Blerk, Dr Theuns Henning, and Associate Professor Seosamh Costello. 

Established by the Transportation Research Board's Executive Committee in 1971, the K.B. Woods Award is a prestigious honour that is presented annually to an outstanding paper published in the field of design and construction of transportation facilities. The paper was chosen from among 59 Transportation Research Board committees that represents approximately 1,500 submissions to the meeting.

This year's Annual Meeting of the Transportation Research Board was held in Washington D.C. on 7-11th January. It attracted over 13,000 transportation professionals worldwide from academia, government, and industry.